The 2012 Threadneedle Prize: A Rich and Dynamic Feast of Figurative Art


This year’s £30,000 Threadneedle Prize exhibition includes a broader cross-section of figurative
painting and sculpture than any previous Threadneedle Prize exhibition.

From the experienced, prize winning work of leading figurative painters to new and innovative work
by young emerging artists and college graduates, the 2012 exhibition will underline the richness
and dynamism of contemporary figurative art.

Three times more work than last year was selected for this year’s exhibition (153 works), giving
144 artists from the UK and Continental Europe an opportunity to exhibit their best new work at
this annual exhibition at the Mall Galleries in central London, which is held between 26 September
and 13 October 2012. This is the first year that artists from Continental Europe have been able to
submit work.

This year, the value of the main prize has been increased to £30,000 – making The Threadneedle
Prize the most valuable prize awarded for a single work of art in the UK. The six works shortlisted
to win the £30,000 Threadneedle Prize will be announced at a Preview on the evening of Tuesday
25 September 2012.

Visitors attending the exhibition will be able to cast their vote for the £10,000 Visitors’ Choice Prize.
Every one of the 153 works is eligible to win this Prize – so the public vote really counts! If the
winner of the Visitors’ Choice Prize coincides with the selectors’ choice for The Threadneedle Prize,
the winning artist will receive £40,000.

Selectors on this year’s panel included sculptor Peter Randall-Page, National gallery curator
Christopher Riopelle and writer and curator Nicholas Usherwood.

The winners of The Threadneedle Prize and Visitors’ Choice will be announced at a special Awards
Dinner, hosted by TV personality Victoria Coren, on Wednesday 10 October 2012.

The 2012 exhibiting artists are:

Jacqueline Abel
Georgina Allen
Hollie L Anderson
Eva Armental
Bridgette Ashton
Christina Ballard
Jeannette Barnes
Guy Beggs
Dijana Bekvalac
Jon Bentley

Ilse Black
Alexandra Blum
Maria-luisa Boito
Helen Booth
Patrick Brandon
Bev Broadhead
Peter Brown
Elaine Brown
Lisa Brown
Magdalena Brzeska

David Byrne
Patricia Cain
David Caldwell
Alex Cave
Peter Clossick
Yosef Cohen
Julia Colmenares
Justine Cook
Martin Cordiano
Denise de Cordova

Emma Cousin
Lucy Crispin
Jennifer Crouch
Yi Dai
Janet Darley
Kasia Depta-Garapich
Thomas Doran
Andrew Drummond
Lucy Duke
Jeannelise Edelsten
Saliha Elhoussaini
Luke Elwes
Lu Fang
David Firmstone
Donna Fleming
Jaana Fowler
Eiichi Fukuda
Pippa Gatty
Fran Giffard
Kate Giles
Sarah Gillespie
Mark Glassman
Lucy Glendinning
Steph Goodger
Jolie Goodman
Ka Gray
Ben Greener
Inguna Gremzde
Raoof Haghighi
Susie Hamilton
Tom Hammick
Andrew Harding
Clare Haward
Emma Haworth
Ben Hendy
Kaori Homma
Tony Hull
Julia Hutton

Victor Ivanov
Lou Johns
Wynn Jones
Ross Jones
Delia Keeling
Peter Kelly
Luis Kerch
Sara Kerry
Yuichiro Kikuma
Terry Kubecki
Yun Kyung Jeong
Chloe Le Tissier
Sophie Levi
Jill McManners
Enzo Marra
Lauren Marsh
Peter Marsh
Claire McCarthy
Andrew McDonald
Silvia Menamin
David Micheaud
Mick Miller
Melanie Miller
Adeline de Monseignat
Marianne Morild
Angela Morris-Winmill
Dan Narita
Dominic Negus
Kelvin Okafor
Shaneen Osman
David Pairpoint
Shanti Panchal
Stephen Park
Katherine Peeke
Julian Perry
David Piddock
Austen Pinkerton
Tim Pomeroy

Jasmine Pradissitto
Francisca Prieto
Karen Purple
Sarah Purvey
Amanda Rae
Paul Regan
Bettina Reiber
Steffie Richards
Philippa Ridley
Keith Robinson
Gill Rocca
Ryan Rodgers
Camila Sadler
Peter Sainty
Melissa Scott-Miller
Andrew Seto
Guram Shavdia
Roy Smith
Claire Smith
Danuta Solowiej
Ian St. John
Gordana Batic
Richard Starbuck
John Stark
Natalie Stewart-Clark
David Storey
Ilona Szalay
Wendy Teo
Robert Truscott
Beatrijs Van Rheeden
Joanne Weaver
Tessa Whitehead
Natasha Whittle
Antony Williams
Simon Wright
Oi Wun Chan
Geoff Yeomans
Martha Zmpounou

The Threadneedle Prize exhibition open 26 September to 13 October 2012.
Open daily 10am-5pm (closes 3pm on final day)
Mall Galleries
The Mall, near Trafalgar Square, London SW1Y
Admission Free

The Threadneedle Prize will be open for late night viewing with a pop-up bar and live music
Wednesday 3 October 2012 6-10pm

For more information visit:
Call: 0207 930 6844
Tweet: @ThreadneedlePrz

The 2012 Threadneedle Prize: A Rich and Dynamic Feast of Figurative Art


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.